top of page
Foto do escritorJoyce

My 18th Birthday!


Hey guys, it has been almost 2 months since my 18th birthday and I came here to share with all of you about it. It's more like sharing feelings and thoughts so most of you will identify yourselves to them others won't. Anyway, I have a blog to share things that I think are important to me and people should at least try to understand it or be able to create a completely different opinion or just enjoy it if you like. I hope that with this post you will think a little bit more about yourselves.

Well, here we go! Since I created this blog I had a deeper connection with writing, more than I had before this was just like a diary for me but then I decided that I don't want to share my thoughts anymore, why? Well, I'm still scared about what people think if I say something wrong or if I say something that would offend someone, so I am really scared of people's confrontation and for me, that's kind of bad because we are here to learn different opinions different ways of thinking and people have to be willing to be open-minded and let other opinions lead to new ones. I do that all the time. I love hearing others opinions to create my own and when I don't understand something or I think it doesn't make sense or I think it's just silly because something else I try to know more about why those people think about that topic that way so I am willing to know their side and respect them even if I don't agree about it.

Personal growth:

Since I came to England I realised that I grew very quickly as a person and as a woman in this society, that doesn't mean that I didn't have any growth in my home country, yes I grew and then at a certain point of my life I realised that something was missing in my life, I was stuck in my own life, the opportunities were disappearing and I had the necessity of doing something completely different than what I was used to, that comfort in my home, the comfort of the school and friends were making me feel stuck, I always liked something different and adventurous but I didn't have that anymore so I asked myself would you be brave enough to let yourself go to an unknown world when you have everything you need, your family, your friends and your academic career path made just for you? And I decided to go to the unknown path where my life would be uncertain at a certain point, that decision took me 2 years to come to the real me and for the happiest that I seem I was, it was really hard to let everything you knew, every belief and every important people in my life behind. I am crying now!LOL

Everything you do in your life that seems easy, it won't be I'm going to assure you that because of the feeling of missing someone and not having time to speak to them properly is really hard and the new could be really hard for people who are not prepared or willing to try it. Now comes the part that I tell you the good things about this experience away from home. It's scary and marvellous at the same time. I came here with the mentality of a person who lived in an African Island all my life and coming here so young could go really wrong but as I said before I prepared myself psychologically and physically for this experience for 2 years to be really sure about what I was doing. What happened with the school I wasn't prepared for lots of options because my all life they taught me only one way to become successful and here things are the opposite, so this got me off guard I didn't know if it was a good thing or a bad thing but soon I realised that I can still do what I have in mind. A tip, search and go for it if u have that opportunity. I grew really fast and I realised that I became more mature by taking mature actions when I'm in a serious position, who knows me knows that I am really funny and crazy sometimes, I develop a certain empathy towards people and I'm still learning to hear people, so I really improved myself in the last 2 years here in England maybe with a little help of the internet because if you use it well and in a healthy way you will actually improve yourself and try to follow people that inspire and make you feel you.

Experiences:

This is the best part because in just 2 years here I did so many things and I've met so many nice people. I am going to start since the beginning, my family and I, we decided that I should do English first that was fine, however, they told me I had an Entry 2 level of English I wasn't sure what that meant at the beginning but it's a low level of English, I mean that's not good for someone who has studied English all her life, right? The first day of college was amazing I met some girls and I was happy with the class but here they make tests to make sure we are at our level and I wasn't. And guess what? I moved to Entry 3 but I didn't like the idea. That's the thing I learned in that precise moment of life, to never say no to an opportunity in life even if you are in your comfort zone because to be completely honest I found my comfort zone but if I stayed there I wouldn't have the level of English I have today and I would make my colleagues feel that they are not good enough so I didn't do it just for me I did it for them too. I moved to Entry 3 I loved the teachers but we were 2 girls in the class, I don't mind boys but I would like to have girls, too. So I wasn't so happy about it and my mentor (she is the best) moved me up because she thought I improved much more that was when I ended up studying Level 1 English kind of 9th and 10th grade, I guess. I loved the class. It was full of lovely people, the same number of boys and girls and brilliant students I made so many friends, I had amazing grades, I learned so much about other people's culture and religion which is so rewarding because knowledge is key for everything, I was able to participate on an important interview where they choose 4 people to an amazing opportunity (work experience on Principal Consulting/ there is a post on the blog about it) and I was one of the selected ones. I was actually delighted plus I won the reading challenge that I wasn't expecting. And I know that even though I didn't get to my ideal course (I cried so much because it was the first time I failed something) I realised something really important I will never get always a yes! So if one door closes another opens. And, yes, I was really sad at the beginning but then I realised that if I cried over it I wouldn't go anywhere and I wouldn't do anything that I wanted so I talked with a counsellor and she gave me advice which made me have hope. So never lose hope, try other strategies until you get there. About the first time I was really happy because I saw snow for the first time, I remember myself jumping up and down in the classroom and my teacher was really surprised that it was the first time a girl with 17 years old was seeing snow. It was quite funny, actually. It was also the first time I went to a team park with friends and it was the best day of my life! And it was the first time I was leaving with children. I thought it would be easy but it's not. It's okay now because I learn to love my cousins. I am still learning. Sometimes I just don't know how to show them that. I never had small kids at home and my brother and I have just 3 years of difference.

Advice:

Enough of writing because I think you guys don't really care sometimes but just wanted to share part of everything I lived with you guys, obviously there are many things I could've written about but I don't want this a huge text. I just wanted to tell you guys this:

  • Don't give up on your dreams even if doors are closed because I'm sure others will open

  • Be ready and willing to accept the new

  • Go out of your comfort zone sometimes

  • Try something new or completely different than what you are used too, you may like it

  • Do what makes you happy

  • When you are 18 nothing will change, just legally!

  • And respect people


Dress: @newlook

Makeup: @benefitcosmeticsuk

@primark.beauty

Shoes: @Primark

This is the post of this week, thank you so much for those who support me and my blog. If you like these types of posts please please tell me on the comments on Instagram @pooh.limandrade or on my Facebook page it makes me so happy. Keep safe and Stay at home!!! Kisses


10 visualizações0 comentário

Comments


bottom of page