top of page
Foto do escritorJoyce

Work experience in London

Atualizado: 8 de jun. de 2019

First of all this is only a part of what I've wrote on their blog, who is interested to see the rest of the article I will leave the link at the end near to the pictures, I really wanted to thank Uxbridge College for this amazing opportunity and the people who welcome us on Principal Consulting this year. Was so fun and I learned so much from it and from 20 something students me and my 3 other friends were chosen and I can tell that each one of them put so much effort into it and I'm sure they deserve it and enjoyed as much as myself.


Let me tell you a little bit more about Principal Consulting, it's a company that help small charities to have their voice heard to help even more people, they help them get bigger like a lot of other charities and they involve politics as well to have support from the politicians.


Each year four ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) students from Uxbridge College join us for a few days work experience to learn about the UK political system and how charities campaign for change. Here are some reflections on key political issues for young people today from this years excellent group of students.


My name is Joyce Lima Andrade, I’m 17 years old and I’m from Cape Verde. This opportunity has made me realize that actually I can be good at politics, because politics is not just knowing about what politicians are talking about and the problems they are discussing but understanding what is the meaning of what’s better for all of us and not only for ourselves. The three different days were wonderful, I met amazing people that love what they do helping other organisations achieve their goals and purposes.

I had an opportunity to visit the Houses of Parliament and the GLA. I was very happy because I really wanted to visit the Houses of Parliament because of its history. What impressed me most was the room that has a lot of books that are about politics, with every detail about the discussion of every single session of Parliament. These books are called Hansard – it’s really impressive! At the GLA I was really pleased that they wanted to be transparent with the public so the building is made of big glass windows, so you can see inside. I also learned about things that I didn’t know about and that make me more curious about this amazing world of politics. I enjoyed every moment, thank you Principle Consulting for this opportunity.





14 visualizações0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo

Comments


bottom of page